Climate Action Subcommittee

The City of Sebastopol invites interested citizens to volunteer and apply for openings on the Newly Formed Climate Action Sub-Committee.

The City has openings for the following positions:

  • Sebastopol busines owner
  • Environmental justice/equity background

Applications and further information are available at the City of Sebastopol Planning Department, 7120 Bodega Avenue, Sebastopol, CA  95472.  For questions on this subcommittee, please contact Associate Planner Alan Montes, at 707 823 6167 or
The deadline for applications is: Monday, January 04, 2021
All signed applications must be submitted to the City of Sebastopol Planning Department, 7120 Bodega Avenue, Sebastopol, CA, by January 04, 2021.  Interviews before the City Council will be scheduled for a later date.

On December 3, 2019 the City Council adopted a City Council Resolution declaring a climate emergency and committing to on-going actions to restore a safe environment. On January 7, 2020 the City Council approved the creation of a Climate Action Sub-committee. The Climate Action Sub-committee will include a cross-section of community members from all sectors working together to create a recommendation to the City Council on specific actions.

The Climate Action Sub-committee will consist of eleven (11) to thirteen (13) members from the following backgrounds:

  • One City Councilmember
  • One Planning Commissioner
  • One Member of City Staff (Planning Director or designee)
  • Youth (ages 17-23)
  • Sebastopol business owner
  • Sebastopol Climate Action or other local climate group representative
  • Environmental justice/equity background
  • Rights of nature background
  • Climate background
  • Reside within Sebastopol city limits
  • Reside outside Sebastopol city limits within the 95472-zip code

Duties of Climate Action Sub-committee:

  • Formulate a Work Plan for the sub-committee
  • Research composition and duties of other cities sub-committees
  • Update CAP Document for City
  • Prioritize Climate Emergency Resolution Attachment A
  • Create Climate Calendar
  • Create Volunteer Appreciation Events/Ideas for Climate Events

In creating the climate action ad-hoc sub-committee, it is not the intent of the council to duplicate or overlap the functions, duties, or responsibilities assigned to any other board or commission. It is likely, however, that the work of the climate action sub-committee may involve areas of concern of other City boards and commissions. In these situations, City staff may be asked to bring those items to those relevant boards and commissions and report back to the ad-hoc sub-committee.

Current Climate Action Subcommittee Members

Subcommittee Members  
Gerald Glaser  
Alex Goodman  
Dena Allen  
Josho Somine  
Kenna Lee  
Liselotte Pierce  
Sarah Elliot  
Sunali Shanti Sikand  
Woody Hastings  
Luke Lindenbusch, Planning Commissioner  

Staff Liaison
Alan Montes, Associate Planner